Upcoming Changes

As you might have noticed, I have been updating this blog less often of late. I could come up with many excuses but none of them would be that honest. Basically, it has basically been because of a lack of inspiration for articles on translation topics and the growing amount of time taken up with research and Bible study.

Those two areas bring me onto some upcoming changes. As Matthew Bennett kindly pointed out in response to one of my earlier posts on passion, it is clear from the entirety of my site that I have a real passion for preaching. I also get unusually excited about conference interpreting and interpreting research. This makes me a bit of a nerd but at least I am comfortable with my nerdishness.

For me to keep being inspired enough to write fresh, interesting articles on a regular basis, I really have to keep pushing my areas of passion. So, from the week after next, you will notice some (much longer) posts on Bible Study topics. This doesn’t mean that there will be no translation or interpreting posts (but I don’t have any in the queue right now). This does mean, however, that you are likely to see less posts on everyday translation business and more on topics like: how to know what our clients really want, survey design, the role of interpreters in society and perhaps some leadership ideas.

I am currently looking at posting one or two Bible study articles per fortnight (they take longer to write) and one or more interpreting/research posts in the same period. To make it easier to tell between them, I will be making better use of twitter hashtags. I will also be making clearer use of category tags here on the blog. So, if you are only really interested in interpreting posts, keep an eye out for me #interpreting tag. If, on the other hand, you are more interested in the Bible study posts, keep an eye out for the #Bible hashtag.

Thank you so much for reading this blog and I look forward to hearing from you in future.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

